The Delaware Association of Athletic Directors (DAAD), along with official scholarship sponsors Neff and OA Newton, announces its 2019 State Scholarship Winners.  The 7th annual DAAD Scholarships have been awarded to Beau Neff of Tatnall and Alia Marshall of Cape Henlopen High School. 

Tatnall’s Beau Neff earned 16 varsity letters playing soccer, wrestling, ice hockey and lacrosse. Beau is the first sixteen season athlete in Tatnall history.  Beau will attend DeSales University where he plans to study physical therapy.

Cape Henlopen’s Alia Marshall also played four varsity sports during her high school career.  Alia earned eleven varsity letters playing field hockey, basketball, lacrosse and indoor track.   She is ranked in the top 5% of her class and will be attending Northwestern University majoring in Speech Pathology.

Each student will receive a $500.00 award.  Their scholarship applications have been submitted to the Section 2 Level of the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NIAAA).   Each student will compete against six other regional state winners from Kentucky, Ohio, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia.  Winners from Section 2 will be awarded a $1,500.00 scholarship and their applications will move on to the National Level for a chance to win a $2,500.00 scholarship. 

DAAD has had three previous state winners move on to the next level.  Michael Chen from Newark Charter was the Section 2 winner in 2018.  He joined Eryn Quillen from Seaford High School who was the Section 2 winner in 2013.  In 2012 Molly Cain from Seaford High School was the National Scholarship winner. 

The Delaware Association of Athletic Directors would like to thank Neff and OA Newton for sponsoring this award.